ponycreator:

More webcomic appreciation!

I started reading Bad Machinery by John Allison a while back when I saw it linked on Kate Beaton’s Tumblr. It’s basically about six kids, three boys and three girls, who go around solving mysteries. It’s also got some of the funniest dialogue I’ve ever read–I keep trying to compose a list of my favorite quotes, but it includes pretty much every third comic strip, because they are all hilarious. However, even with all the silliness and randomness, of which there is a ton, there’s also a lot of subtle and realistic character moments that flesh out the kids and their world incredibly well.

The most recent mystery, The Case of the Fire Inside (god, I think I’m in love with that title, seriously), wrapped up about a week ago, and the next one will start August 27. So it’s the perfect time to trawl through the archives, I am just saying!

Also, Tom Siddell of Gunnerkrigg Court has totally done a guest strip for the series, which was an awesome surprise when I was reading through the archives!

And now, because I simply must introduce you to these characters:

Shauna!

image

Lottie!

image

Mildred!

image

Jack!

image

Linton!

image

Sonny!

image

Also: Colm, because even though he’s probably not technically one of the main boys, he’s my favorite after Sonny, mostly because he says this line:

image

I ❤ Bad Machinery, John Allison is a ruddy genius. That last panel is possibly my absolute favorite thing he has made. Lottie Grote is the best!

